Warsaw Pact, 1955

What was the Warsaw Pact?
The Warsaw Pact was a defensive military alliance between the USSR and eastern European countries.
When was the Warsaw Pact signed?
The Warsaw Pact was established on 14th May, 1955.
Who was part of the Warsaw Pact?
The members of the Warsaw Pact were the USSR, Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland and Romania.
Why was the Warsaw Pact created?
There were 2 key reasons the Warsaw Pact was created:
  • The USSR felt threatened when West Germany was allowed to join NATO in 1955 because Germany had invaded Russia in both world wars.
  • The Pact would increase the USSR's control over eastern Europe.
What did the members of the Warsaw Pact agree to?
By joining the Warsaw Pact, members agreed to defend each other if they were attacked by a non-member. This was the idea of collective security.
What were the consequences of the creation of the Warsaw Pact?
There were 3 main consequences of the creation of the Warsaw Pact:
  • The USSR increased control over the satellite states in eastern Europe because it dominated the Pact.
  • Europe was now divided politically, economically and militarily into two hostile camps.
  • It intensified the arms race with the West.
Scroll to the answer
Clever Lili logo

Welcome to Clever Lili!

Turbocharge your history revision with our revolutionary new app! Clever Lili is here to help you ace your exams.


Ask Lili

Enhanced Learning


AI Tutor

Study Guides

Android and iOS App

Alexa and Google Home

Ask question in Facebook Messenger

Sign Up It's free